Reviews

Please leave a review

Great Service!!!!

  1. Great Garage!!! Can’t recommended them more.

They go above and beyond and so friendly.

Will always use them in the future!

Anna Newitt
November 2018

First Class Service

Received an amazing service from Wimbledon Automatics. Really happy with the prices, help and advice. The boys went way beyond the call of duty!

Julie Ruane
October 2018

Highly recommended

Highly recommended, great job done on my Cmax gearbox.
Great customer service and honest from start to finish.
Ken & Delroy thanks again guys 10/10 .

John Keir
September 2018

First class service at a price for everyone.

My regular mechanic recommended Wimbledon Auto as the place to head for gear box issues. His advice was spot on. I received a professional service from the point of arrival up to and including getting the keys back. I felt they were knowledgeable and happy to share advice. I will return next time as it’s great to find a car company you can trust.

Jonathan Stafford
September 2018

Great Service!

Fast, efficient and friendly service from Ken & Delroy. They fixed my Porsche Cayenne gearbox, it’s now running perfectly! When I rang they fitted me in the next day and they were inexpensive and value for money. I would happily recommend them to anyone 😀

Charlie Lewis
August 2018

Honest, Friendly and Quality Service

High quality and timely service as always, would highly recomend to any automatic car owners for gearbox or service work. Friendly and knowlageable staff always on hand to help and advise. Top service!

Cheers Guys!

Steve
August 2018

Honest, efficient and reliable as always.

We’ve used and trusted Wimbledon Automatics for over 25 years and they have always been able to provide an honest and reliable service, whether it’s giving us advice when we’ve popped in or called, to carrying out repairs on the various cars we’ve had in that time, sometimes at very short notice (on one occasion two days before a trip into France and our power steering failed. We called them, they told us to bring the car down and it was booked in and repaired in time for us to continue our holiday).

We will continue to use WA and would highly recommend them.

Thanks Ken & Team!

Shaun Bradfield
August 2018

Juddering Honda Jazz

Honda had a terrible judder in first gear, noboby else appeared to know what the problem was. I contacted WA and they knew of the problem, knew how to rectify it, and sorted it out quickly and very efficiently. It’s now like having a new car. Very pleased indeed. Roger Barron

Roger Barron
August 2018

Gear box.

Really great people fast efficient service and very reasonable. I was really pleased with their service. Thank you Delroy.

Christine Maynard
June 2018

Fantastic Service

My Disco had a major problem with the ATF pipe coming off and emptying out. I was trading at a Country Fair and pulling a display trailer that I needed to get back to Suffolk on the Tuesday.
I spoke to Delroy on the Saturday and he gave me some great advice and was very helpful.
I arranged recovery to take the car to him on the Tuesday morning as the Monday was a Bank Holiday. As soon as I arrived, they got to work and fixed the pipe and refilled the ATF.
The problem was sorted in quick time and I managed to get home.
I was very grateful to all the guys at WA for their help and quick response.
Great service, great advice, very pleasant to deal with and reasonably priced.
Thanks Guys!

David Sandpearl
May 2018

Passat B6 DSG repair

I contacted Wimbledon Automatics re diagnosing my Passat DSG gearbox issue of vibration on the change up. Derek asked me to bring it down so he could road test the vehicle for an assessment. After a drive around he came to the conclusion it was one of two things, the clutch pack or the mechatronix unit. He was willing to do the job but advised the cost would exceed the value of the vehicle so didn’t make economic sense. It’s refreshing to be given an honest opinion as opposed to just taking my money so I have to give kudos to Wimbledon Automatics for that. Rest assured I will deal with them if I have auto gearbox issues in future.

Andrew Law
May 2018

Renault Espace

I just had the Auto gearbox on my Renault Espace fixed by Wimbledon Automatics and all appears to be working fine now and the cost was acceptable. Nice people to do business with; polite, well informed and good customer service. Happy to recommend at this stage based on my experience – I will provide an update in due course once I have used the car for a while.

Phil Robinson
March 2018

Loyal Team

I had my car transmission ECU done at Wimbledon Automatics Ltd after two months searching for a genuine gearbox specialist. I was then recommended by a friend to this company and asked to speak to a Mr Delroy one of the professional Gear box specialist . From the first conversation I had with him over the phone,he showed such a good customer service skills and I knew I had found the right company. On the day I met him in person the company’s customer service skills was beyond excellent and I then finally confirmed they are true professionals. They checked my vehicle and explain what the problem is with my vehicle in detail , They also kept me informed of the work on my vehicle, They kept to their words. and if I should describe the entire team at Wimbledon Automatics Ltd, “LOYAL TEAM” The entire team showed excellent customer service skills and I will use them again and again.
Thanks and God bless the entire team I will recommend your company to family and friends anyday my car now drives like new. My car problem is over thanks to Wimbedon Automatics

Violet Wellington
November 2017

Chrysler Grand Voyager

Having been told to either scrap my wonderful Crysler Grand Voyager, or replace the gearbox with a new one costing a minimum of £5,000 plus labour through a main dealer, I decided to take the car to Wimbledon Automatics, based on their reviews. I can honestly say this was the best experience I have ever had at a garage in London. Ken and Derek were a pleasure to deal with, and the car now drives like new! They immediately diagnosed the fault and replaced all the gearbox components, even my leaking radiator at a fraction of the cost and within record time. Ken explained everything in great detail, insisted I test drive the car upon collection, and gave me a year’s warrantee including a free check up after a few weeks. Couldn’t recommend Wimbledon Automatics highly enough and extremely grateful!

Mrs C Tesler
November 2017

I can’t speak highly enough about them

After reading various reviews I decided to take my car to Wimbledon Automatics. My car has an unusual problem and as it is a relatively new gearbox (BMW 8 speed auto) I suggested, and it was agreed that we go for a torque converter rebuild. I took my car in on Tuesday and had it back on Thursday, a very impressive quick turnaround, other garages were asking 5 days for this work.
Unfortunately the rebuild of the torque converter did not solve the problem but Ken and the team are doing their best to help find a solution which will include talking to the manufacturer ZF.
I would highly recommend Wimbledon Automatics, as others have said in the if you want excellent workmanship and people you can trust, then look no further. True gentleman that always put the customer first.
I can’t speak highly enough about them.

Justin Scott-Barate
May 2017

Full explanation

I took my SLK to Ken & Delroy 4 years ago, they fixed the gearbox leak without delay and at reasonable cost.
When the gearbox in my E-Type Jaguar started to leak fluid I had no hesitation in calling Wimbledon Automatics where I spoke with Derek who assured me he could fix my pride and joy.
When I returned to collect my car Delroy gave me a full explanation of what work was done to cure the leak. Like my previous visit, the cost was reasonable and I would have no hesitation in recommending Wimbledon Automatics, every member of the team are a delight and should I ever need work on my gearbox in future, they will be the company I return to.
Thanks Derek and Delroy, appreciate all your help, it’s a pleasure to know you.

Bill Williams
March 2017

19yr old Jeep Cherokee

Bought 19yr old Jeep Cherokee to Wim Auto on recommendation for 1st check-up, they found a few problems, not running good and lumpy the fella’s sorted out all the rubbish and now runs as smooth as Bryan Ferry ,great job thanks Fellas.Top marks.

Gary Ford
November 2016

My Garage

I’ve been looking for a place I could actually call “my garage” and I definitely know I’ve found it in Wimbledon Automatics! Visited today with an issue with my Ford Focus gearbox oil being low, Delroy sorted it out in no time! Gave me top advice and was very reassuring. The whole team at Wimbledon automatics greeted me and made me feel more than welcome. Lovely experience and I will definitely recommend to people with automatic transmissions!

Karissa Jones
October 2016

Old Scimitar

My 34 year old Scimitar with a Ford A4LD Granada box became stranded with total loss of drive on a journey up North just over 4 years ago. It was transported to a local Scimitar specialist and the gearbox had a total overhaul. Unfortunately, over the next few years, lots of problems developed and after a while, it became clear the box must have been overhauled on a Friday afternoon after a session down the pub … so many problems ensued, too many to list, which eventually led to near total loss of drive, and the need for another complete overhaul. The guys at Wimbledon Autos have done a superb job, with everything now working as it should and not the slightest hint of any problems. And they don’t just overhaul the box and wave goodbye. After a week they had it back for a routine initial check, and after 6 and 12 months they want to see it again, for checks, fluid change etc. They really do a fantastic job. Highly recommended.

Bill Salisbury
July 2016

Recommended

Recommended by Shelbys of Fulham. Sorted transmission on Renault Scenic – diagnosed, and fixed within 24 hours. Very friendly and explained everything. Highly recommended.

Harry Gostelow
June 2016

Fantastic honest garage

Fantastic honest garage… I had a new dual mass flywheel and clutch kit fitted to our audi a3 s line… now drives beautiful…. thanks to delroy for all the help in sorting it out quickly… It was pricey but I would say if you want cheap don’t buy an automatic type car….. this sort of work is not cheap anywhere but at least you know at Wimbledon its completed to a top standard… thanks guy’s.

Mark Stuckey
March 2016

Just want to say thanks

Just want to say thanks to Delroy and his team. I dropped my BMW 728i at Wimbledon Automatics fearing the worst. However the lads inspected the car and discovered the dry screaching noise wasn’t the Gearbox but something less dramatic which was a huge relief. very courteous, very helpful, very honest. I would highly recommend Delroy and his staff.

Phil Pinchera
January 2016

Recommended

Was recommended to me by another garage when I was having trouble with my BMW 5 series Autos gearbox, Delroy completed the diagnostic testing found the issues as a result the car had a total gearbox rebuild, the communication was excellent, the cost was very competitive but the customer support and service was top drawer, personable human & courteos with an astounding attention to detail in their workmanship & the car is driving like a dream now….. Thanks guys”

Patrick O'Driscoll
October 2015

Elderly VW

Elderly our VW may be, but Delroy and team diagnosed the gearbox problem quickly, explained exactly what was wrong and fixed it within hours. I’d recommend Wimbledon Automatics to anyone who wants fast expert attention and the certainty of a good job that won’t cost the earth.

Charles Carter
September 2015

Welcoming

Delroy gave me the most welcoming and assuring response. Ever so pleasant and ready to help. My car drives sooo smooth as new and I recommend his garage to anyone. Extremely satisfied customer! Thanks Delroy and Michael.

Catherine Conduah
September 2015

Pleasing Welcome

On 22nd July I took my Audi A3 for Auto Gear Box Oil change and new Auto filter. I met Derek and Delroy, who gave me a pleasing welcome and explained the cost. The car was ready for collection the following day. Their service was excellent and it is a joy to drive the car since the service. I recommend the Garage very highly and a big thank you to all the Staff.

Sharif Hirii
August 2015

First time driver

I am a first time driver (very late in life!) with a 2nd hand mini and a problem with the gear box. Having only literally just had the breaks done I was very wary about who to go to to get the issue fixed. The minute we spoke to Delroy, we were impressed with his level of customer service, reassurance and honest appraisal. That coupled with his excellent online reviews assured us that he was the right man for the job and we were not wrong. The car was in, diagnosed, quoted, explained in terms I could easily understand (!), fixed and out within 24 hours. I am very impressed all round and very grateful for such a positive experience. These are good honest hard working guys, definitely recommended.

Sarah Green
July 2015

Very professional and knowledgeable

A very professional and knowledgeable company there technicians are on top of there game with auto gearbox diagnosis and repair. They take time to investigate the problem and inform you of there findings costs are kept to a minimum as they only complete the repairs needed unlike some other garages who just want to charge as much as possible for repairs that are not always required.
Thank you for the prompt and comprehensive service you provided I must say that I would recommend that any one who has gearbox problems should come to you immediately.

Chris Bowler
June 2015

Warning light

I thought that my 14 year old Volkswagen Lupo was a write off, as I had a warning light coming on and off for two years which I could not get fixed, in spite of taking it to three different garages, and having two replacement manifold sensor lights fitted. When the gears started banging and rattling I thought that was the end. After two hours with Wimbledon Automatics the problem was fixed, no warning light and smooth gear changes. I wish that I had known of them earlier. Excellent job, at a very fair price, big thank you to Derek and the rest of the team

David Greenwell
March 2015

Back on the road again

“Delroy, Ken, many thanks for getting the Jeep back on the road again.
After so much trouble with so called experts at a main dealers who had it for nearly a month and then gave a rediculus price to repair. it was breath breath of fresh air to bring it to people who, within a few days, had identified the problem repaired the car and handed it back to me for less than half the cost I would have been charged. Many thanks again guys you have restored my faith in the automotive repair industry

Kevin Tomlinson
March 2015

A pleasure to deal with

A pleasure to deal with a team who know what they are doing, do what they say they will, and when, and stick to the price quoted. Ford wrote me off, but you didn’t.

Nicholas Hart
March 2015

First time

Hi, This is the first time I have done a review but I felt it really helped me in choosing this garage and helped me feel a at ease choosing some where to take my car , this was my first automatic car in my 28 years of driving so all new ground for me but this garage explained and showed me in detail what was happening to my car and dealt with me quickly and very professionally with out all the jargon …. and half the price that I had been quoted else were and better still they dealt with warranty’s which most of the bill was covered , I can’t express just how happy I was that I found this small but professional garage . I will most certainly be taking my car back to them . Thanks again

Tracey Azzopard
March 2015

Thank’s again

Thank you Delroy and all at Wimbledon automatics for a 1st class service on my Mondeo mk2 the car is running perfect after having speed sensor and fluid change see you again later in the year. Thank’s again

Richard Norbury
March 2015

More than pleased

More than pleased with the work done to my 15 year old 406. After Ken took it for a drive, he explained exactly what the problem was, and the best and cheapest way to solve the problem. Without a doubt the most honest mechanic I have ever had dealings with. Have already recommended this garage to friends. It was a pleasure to do business with them. Many thanks to Ken and his team.

Micky Cavanagh
February 2015

Fantastic

Gearbox making lots of noise and after a chat with Ken the car came in. They looked it over gave me a price to repair it and that was that. A couple of days later and the car is fantastic. Thanks Guys

Mike Mayhew
February 2015

Amazing service

Amazing service, honest and such nice people, thanks Delroy

Aileen O'Brien
November 2014

Recommended

I had Wimbledon automatics recommended to me by an ex Land Rover Service technician, I couldn’t fault the service provided by Ken and Delroy, my Range Rover suffered torque converter failure and it was fixed by Delroy in line with the quoted price. Very friendly, professional and quick service, would highly recommend to anyone.

Chris Maunders
November 2014

AA recommended

The AA recommended me to Wimbledon Automatics Ltd after the transmission on my Landrover failed. From the get go, I received first class friendly honest service at a fair price. The auto-engineer I dealt with “Delroy” gave a correct diagnosis of the problem, what needed to be done to effect repair, how much that repair would cost and how long it would take.
Guess what folks? the man was true to his word in all areas and three working days later I had my repaired landrover back for exactly the repair price that was quoted. I would highly recommend this company. Thank you Wimbledon Auto’s and thank you Delroy.

John Hannah
October 2014

Top man

I have just had my Range Rover Vogue repaired at Wimbledon Automatics. Delroy ! you are a top man and so are the rest of the guys there. From the initial phone call to picking up my car which was done in super time by the way. It was as smooth as velvet and hassle free. You made me feel confident in the company from the start. I would whole heartedly and without hesitation recommend you to any one.
Remember. Yesterday was history. Tomorrow is a mystery . Today is a gift. Thats why its called the present. Kindest regards Shane.

Shane Nyman
October 2014

Excellent and honest service

Excellent and honest service. Delroy gave us a comprehensive explaination of the problems and our options as well as keeping us up to date throughout. Saved us 600 pounds over another automatics specialist. Definitely recommended.

Will Carter
September 2014

Very honest

A very honest, upfront and responsive company. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable, leaving us feeling you could trust what they say and they’d do a good job. We took our Astra automatic in after it became stuck in 4th. Vauxhall had failed to diagnose the cause, saying only that it needed a new gearbox, but Wimbledon Automatics could tell us why it had happened (radiator leaking into the gearbox, seemingly a design fault with the Astra judging by the many online complaints), how much it would all cost to fix and their opinion on whether it was worth doing the work. We didn’t proceed because of the age of the car but if we ever have gearbox trouble in the future we’ll go straight to them. A genuinely first rate experience.

Jim Murphy
September 2014

Recommended by another garage

I was recommended to Wimbledon Automatics by another garage (!) who couldn’t help me and experienced brilliant customer service from the start. They diagnosed the expected problem, major and fairly expensive, and they instilled such confidence I quickly booked to have the work done. Everyone at WA, and Delroy in particular, was helpful, knowledgeable and efficient, and took the time to explain everything to me without making me feel stupid. Their estimate was accurate and the work completed ahead of schedule. Altogether a very pleasant experience and one which I would happily recommend! Thanks for everything.

Phillippa Fornasiero
August 2014